Tags

, , , , , ,

Day 30

Continuing from yesterday

I came home from She Speaks revitalized and full of energy for writing and being obedient to what God was asking me to share. Jason and I sat down and looked at finances and he said: “Let’s do it!” 

I sat and studied self-hosting, domains, blogs, WordPress, frameworks, themes…

I did it. I took the leap and got to work on my dream!

I knew it would take some time to get things set up but I had not envisioned the road block that I soon faced. I transferred all my existing content from bagpipesandbluegrass.com over to its new home and snap! Somehow every URL broke!

I felt defeated.

We did not budget for outside help or support, as it just is not possible at the moment. I honestly didn’t know what to do and my new website sat with the above image. It was useless and broken.

I began this series making mention of the Proverbs 31 Ministries Online Bible Studies Retreat in the mountains of North Carolina at The Billy Graham Training Center at The Cove, Asheville, where the topic for the weekend was Real Life Dreams. I said that the teaching at the retreat from Melissa Taylor, Nicki Koziarz, and Lisa J. Allen had been on my heart since returning and was causing me to dream!

Lisa Allen talked about the Rhythm of a Dream and the seven possible stages of a dream:

  • Dreamer Clueless
  • Dream Conceived by God in your Heart
  • Dream Blocked
  • Dream Extinguished
  • Dream Revised
  • Dream Satisfied
  • Dream Transferred to Transform

I knew in that moment that my dream was blocked! Lisa referred to a book called “The Dream Giver” by Bruce Wilkinson. In the book Bruce talks about “Unexpected Opposition” in the form of “Border Bullies”. 

I recognized that I was standing face-to-face with “The Defeatist” who says: “‘It’s not possible!’ This Bully (Best Friend) sees problems everywhere and is certain that the dream won’t and can’t happen.”

Bruce encourages you to consider: “Who would you identify as a Bully to your Dream?” and “Why do you think this person is against your plans””

  • “For our battle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the world powers of this darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavens.” Ephesians 6:12 HCSB
  • “Be serious! Be alert! Your adversary the Devil is prowling around like a roaring lion, looking for anyone he can devour.” 1 Peter 5:8 HCSB

The Bully of all Christians is the Devil. He is against any plan we have to do the work of the Father BUT “We [I] must do the works of Him who sent Me while it is day. Night is coming when no one can work.” John 9:4 HCSB

“You must decide who you want to please more–your Border Bullies or God. Is your Dream important enough to you that you are willing to stand and protect it?

Upon realizing that I was in Dream Blocked I sat in tears because in that moment I could not see beyond the block. I felt God placing even bigger dreams on my heart and it pained me to think about it because my only response was “How, God?” I couldn’t see how it was possible for these new, bigger dreams to be realized when I was facing a block. 

God sent Moses into Egypt with prior knowledge that he would face a Pharaoh with a hardened heart. He knew that Pharaoh would not listen to Moses, but it was so that God could be glorified and made known (Exodus 4-14). The resistance we face is no surprise to God. He knew we would face it, BUT He also sees beyond it and that is what we can place hope in!

Bruce Wilkinson talks about “Border Buddies” who “care about us…look on the bright side…stand by us…when we come under fire” and that night I sat with Lisa Allen and another friend who prayed over my dreams. God whispered a Word of hope into my heart and I stood up ready to face my bully.

Bruce also talks about “Border Busters” who “recognize your God-given dream and choose to proactively help you pursue it…Border Busters in your life are a rare treasure…you’ll never forget them.” 

I want to take a moment to thank Lisa Allen for being a Border Buster in my life! She has encouraged and supported me through the rhythm of this dream and I want to thank her for believing in me. I encourage you all to visit LJ Allen Coaching and if you subscribe to her blog and send an email to coach@ljallencoaching.com Lisa will email you a free Rhythm of a Dream resource!

I would love you to join me tomorrow as I move into Dream Satisfied – with the help of another Border Buster in my life!

Disclaimer:
Welcome to my “31 Days to Dream” and thank you for joining me on this journey. I don’t hold the road map for October–God does! He started the journey by taking me down a path of memories, some of which I had long forgotten. He showed me how He has made my childhood dreams come true in ways that I could never have imagined. He is giving me FAITH and HOPE for the road ahead. God and I then spent some time looking at dreamers in the Bible to learn from their lives. He is now showing me more dreams of my heart.
 
I am excited to see where He leads my dreaming over this month of #Write31Days 🙂 You can find my other 31 Days to Dream posts here!
