Tags

, ,

Day 26

  • “When Jesus heard what had happened, he withdrew by boat privately to a solitary place.” Matthew 14:13a NIV

This verse comes after Jesus hears the new of the death of John the Baptist. The reason I love this verse is that it gives us permission to be alone. Sometimes when I receive bad news, when I’m going through trials, when I need to process some things in my life ~ I just want to be alone. I believe this verse is included in Scripture to tell us: “It’s ok!”

It is also important to continue to the rest of verse 13 and 14…

  • “Hearing of this, the crowds followed him on foot from the towns. When Jesus landed and saw a large crowd, he had compassion on them and healed their sick.” Matthew 14:13b-14 NIV

We don’t know how many hours or moments Jesus managed to spend privately in solitude before the crowds caught up with Him, but take a moment to reflect on His reaction ~ “He had compassion on them…”.

Jesus is telling us that it’s ok to withdraw and spend time in quiet solitude, but when the busy of life and the demands catch up with us, perhaps before we are ready, we are to react like Jesus and show compassion.

Enjoy some Solitude this Sunday but have a Heart of Compassion for those who find your Hiding Place!!!

