Tags

, , , , , , ,

Day 14

Day 13 was all about the life of Joseph ~ now let’s learn from him! If you missed yesterday’s post you can read it here!

Keep the Faith and Be Wise Through Trials

  • “So when Joseph came to his brothers, they stripped him of his robe, the robe of many colors that he wore. And they took him and threw him into a pit. The pit was empty; there was no water in it.” Genesis 37:23-24 ESV

Do you sometimes feel like the world has stripped you of everything? Maybe you have lost all that you owned, a loved one, a job, health, dignity and pride, or your way in the world. It might be through choices you have made, or it might be through circumstances out of your control. Either way, you find yourself in a pit. A empty pit where it seems like there is no way to survive.

  • “And they drew Joseph up and lifted him out of the pit, and sold him to the Ishmaelites for twenty shekels of silver.” Genesis 37:28 ESV

Maybe you have had someone come along and help you out of that pit, only to find yourself thrown to a situation just as bad, or worse.

Remember our tweet for Joseph’s story:

Tweet That!

  • “The LORD was with Joseph…the LORD was with him…the LORD was with Joseph…the LORD was with him” Genesis 39:2-3, 21, 23 ESV

The fact that this is repeated twice in the space of two verses shows how important this fact is! Even when we don’t see God, hear God, maybe even trust God ~ He is WITH US! Jesus is EMMANUEL ~ God WITH us! He left His Holy Spirit to live IN us and not depart from us ~ EVER! There is NOWHERE we can go to escape the presence of the LORD – He is EVERYWHERE and He is EVERYWHERE we go because He Is In US!!! (2 Timothy 2:13; Matthew 1:23; 1 Corinthians 3:16; Psalm 139:7). WOW!!!

Give Glory to God

  • “Do not interpretations belong to God?…It is not in me; God will give Pharaoh a favorabel answer…God has revealed to Pharaoh…God has shown…God will…God has…God has…” (Genesis 40:8; 41:16, 25, 28, 32, 51, 52).

Even if you don’t understand what’s going on – PRAISE GOD!!! At no point did Joseph take ownership for his ability to interpret dreams. At no point did he elevate himself as being great, or helping Pharaoh. At every step, he humbled himself and gave GLORY to GOD!

I know I am sometimes tempted when I see a window of opportunity to promote myself and make a way out of the pit but that’s not what God calls for. He calls me to use the gifts that He has given me in obedience, giving glory to Him ALWAYS!

God REMEMBERSGod sees our faithfulness and He says that “those who honor me I will honor, and those who despise me shall be lightly esteemed.” 1 Samuel 2:30 ESV

  • “So Pharaoh said to Joseph, “Since God has made all this known to you, there is no one as intelligent and wise as you are.” Genesis 41:39

Joseph had been tormented by his brothers, sold as a slave, tricked, thrown in prison, given a glimmer of hope of release through the cupbearer only to be forgotten and sit in prison a further 2 years.

BUT!

What Pharaoh saw in him was a wise, Godly man. He exuded such wisdom, and I dare say, calmness of spirit and confidence, that Pharaoh immediately promoted him to be in charge of the whole land of Egypt!

I love what Kerry and Chris Shook share in “Be The Message”:

“Joseph continued to trust that God still had a plan for his life, and he believed that even in the midst of the pain, he was right in the middle of God’s will. God didn’t remove the pain. Instead, He focused Joseph on his unique gift, the interpretation of dreams, and that became the pathway that led Joseph into Pharaoh’s court…God took the work of evil and astonishingly turned it into good.”
 

Oh my sweet friends, this gives me so much hope! In the midst of all the uncertainty that we are facing at this time ~ I choose to focus on the gifts that God has given me, and to day-by-day apply them to my life and walk in His obedience.

There are many more lessons we can learn from Joseph but I just want to share one more thought.

Tribulation and Preservation

My friends, the LORD does not promise an easy life! There will be great hardships in our lives, just like in Joseph’s life BUT God will one day wipe all the tears away for those who have chosen to come to Him (Genesis 42:51; Revelation 21:4).

I see the foreshadowing of Jesus Christ in this passage.

  • “all the earth came to Egypt to Joseph to buy grain, because the famine was severe over all the earth.” Genesis 41:57

There was only one person who could provide the nourishment necessary for life for the people over all the earth – Joseph had the answer, the grain, that they required, and through him the nation was preserved. Also, the number seven is ALL over this passage which points to completion.

There is only ONE who can provide the complete and perfect nourishment necessary for our lives – Jesus Christ! He is the only means of true life for us in this world. No matter how difficult the trials, or how deep the pits in our lives – we can PRAISE JESUS that He will one day pull us up out of that pit and we will never again face pain!

I see one verse as a running theme over the course of Joseph’s life and it is one I hold close to my heart as I continue to dream:

“We know that all things work together for the good of those who love God: those who are called according to His purpose.” Romans 8:38 HCSB

 
Disclaimer:
Welcome to my “31 Days to Dream” and thank you for joining me on this journey. I don’t hold the road map for October–God does! He started the journey by taking me down a path of memories, some of which I had long forgotten. He showed me how He has made my childhood dreams come true in ways that I could never have imagined. He is giving me FAITH and HOPE for the road ahead. Together, we are now spending time looking at dreamers in the Bible to learn from their lives.
 
I am excited to see where He leads my dreaming over this month of #Write31Days 🙂 You can find my other 31 Days to Dream posts here!
