Tags

, , , ,

Day 8

“I want to be a vet!” ~ another of this dreamer’s childhood ambitions! In Scotland you take a week out of school during your 4th, 5th, and 6th years of High School to go on “Work Experience” and I spent two of these weeks working with the veterinary surgeon we used for our small zoo!

I loved animals. I still do. What I failed to grasp proper understanding of were the entrance requirements to vet school!!! I somehow didn’t relate working hard IN High School to getting to the University that would realize this dream. Years later I was perhaps given confirmation that being a vet was not my calling in life when I almost passed out treating one of our horses after she was hit by a car.

I was always the girl that would leave the room when someone got injured and quite honestly feel awkward around sick people and never know what to say. Old people made me squirm…I’m just being honest! Nursing was definitely not my calling and I have incredible respect for those who are called into the medical field in any capacity. I had the compassion for and love of animals. However, I did not have the skills and gifting for the job.

As I recalled this childhood dream to mind The Lord revealed something to me. He showed me that while you would never have seen me offer my nursing skills, and quite honestly no-one would want my nursing skills…HE has a heart of compassion and gifts those that He calls to do His work.

Melusi

In summer 2009 I traveled to South Africa as part of a missions team. We worked with Melusi Christian Community helping with their various ministries. My main passion was the work with the children! On the mission base they have an HIV/AIDS Care Center and as part of our time there we were scheduled to go to the Center once a week to pray with the patients.

I am brought to tears as I write this as I remember how I felt after my first visit to the Care Center. I could barely bring myself to leave as I was so humbled by the joy I saw on the faces of these beautiful people in so much suffering. I sat outside with tears streaming down my face just broken by the suffering they were enduring and the thankfulness they had to be in the care of such loving people. Many of them had been transferred from local hospitals where they were not receiving the love and care they deserved due to the severity of their condition. All they wanted was a little of your time and I began to find myself drawn there during every spare moment of our time! We would dance, paint our nails, sing, and sometimes just sit in silence holding hands.

One day an elderly man was brought to the Care Center from another hospital. Sweet friends I can hardly type. He was a thin as anyone I have ever seen and could barely move due to the pain that was attacking every inch of his body due to AIDS. I stood and watched as the nurse gently removed his dirty clothing and proceeded to bathe him with love and tenderness. He had wounds on his body and was literally skin and bone. I was overcome with emotion and the Spirit of the Lord inside me moved my heart like never before. I found myself offering to help. I had to accept the risks involved and take some precautionary measures but that wasn’t even a factor to consider at this point. I had silent tears flowing praying over this man while bathing him with Christ’s compassion. All he needed was love. All he needed was care. All he needed were for his final days to be full of God’s love and compassion.

There are 13 references (NASB) to Jesus having/showing compassion in the Gospels and His resultant ministry to the people and Scripture says to those who are saved and have given their lives to Christ

  • “Therefore, God’s chosen ones, holy and loved, put on heartfelt compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience,” Colossians 3:12 HCSB

Scripture also says:

  • “Now the God of peace, who brought up from the dead the great Shepherd of the sheep through the blood of the eternal covenant, even Jesus our Lord, equip you in every good thing to do His will, working in us that which is pleasing in His sight, through Jesus Christ, to whom be the glory forever and ever. Amen.” Hebrews 13:20-21 NASB

carecenter5-300x225

Melusi Christian Community HIV/AIDS Care Center

My dream was to be a vet because I had compassion for animals. God has shown me what real compassion is. There is no way I would ever have bathed that man the way I did through my own strength and heart. God showed me His heart of compassion and allowed me to be His hands and feet to minister His compassion. I know that whatever God calls me to, whatever He asks me to do, He will give me the heart to do it.

My dream now is to have God’s compassion for His people.

 

Disclaimer:
Welcome to my “31 Days to Dream” and thank you for joining me on this journey. I don’t hold the road map for October–God does! He is starting the journey by taking me down a path of memories, some of which I had long forgotten. He is showing me how He has made my childhood dreams come true in ways that I could never have imagined. He is giving me FAITH and HOPE for the road ahead. 
 
I am excited to see where He leads my dreaming over this month of #Write31Days 🙂 You can find my other 31 Days to Dream posts here!
