Tags

, , , , ,

Day 6

I loved my childhood home! It was a place of adventure where we could have friends over and play games. I loved our yard. It was a place of exploration where we could go on hunts through the jungle and climb trees. It’s the place that is home to all my childhood dreams.

Arden House

To me there is something magical about owning your own home and creating memories that last through the ages. I dream of that day! I dream of filling a home with love, precious little finds from craft sales, and the scent of warm homemade cookies! I dream of clothing covered in paint splashes from decorating our home. I dream of Fall decorations on our inviting porch welcoming visitors to our home. It’s my white picket fence dream!

Jason and I joke about not putting anything on our seminary apartment walls and whenever I see a picture I would like and say “Maybe one day – you know, when we have a house with actual walls that actually belong to us!” We also joke, but in a more serious way, that anything that we buy has to fit into the 14′ UHaul of our life!

I visited my childhood home while in Scotland earlier this year. It has changed! The inside has been altered, walls have been built up and taken down, rooms have been renovated, and my bedroom that was once home to My Little Pony and all things pink is now home to a 15 year old boy and his pet snakes…SNAKES…in MY room!!!!! SayWHAT!!! Ok…moving on!

A storm had recently ripped through area leaving a visible mark. What had once been that place of adventure had been damaged so badly that all the trees had to be cut down. I stood at the front of the house gazing out in disbelief that my adventure land was gone.

Arden House '14

I realized how temporary the things of this life are and the incredible truth that:

  • “…we know that if our temporary, earthly dwelling is destroyed, we have a building from God, an eternal dwelling in the heavens, not made with hands.” 2 Corinthians 5:1 HCSB
  • “So we do not focus on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” 2 Corinthians 4:18 HCSB

That childhood home was a temporary, passing thing: a home for a season – as is any home that we inhabit on this earth. We are in a season where God is calling us to be ready and available to move where He calls.

  • “Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying: Who should I send? Who will go for Us? I said: Here I am. Send me.” Isaiah 6:8 HCSB

I long for my white picket fence dream to come true. The truth is that day might never come and that’s ok! God has shown me that I have been holding on too tightly to this dream and the desire to settle down and now with open hands I say:

“Where to next Lord? ~ “Here I am. Send me.”

Disclaimer:
Welcome to my “31 Days to Dream” and thank you for joining me on this journey. I don’t hold the road map for October–God does! He is starting the journey by taking me down a path of memories, some of which I had long forgotten. He is showing me how He has made my childhood dreams come true in ways that I could never have imagined. He is giving me FAITH and HOPE for the road ahead. 
 
I am excited to see where He leads my dreaming over this month of #Write31Days 🙂 You can find my other 31 Days to Dream posts here!

 

 

