Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Day 5

Here comes this little dreamer ~ “I want to be a show-jumper”. 

It really was my dream. I really was one of those horse-crazy kids who had posters of pop-stars on one wall and posters of horses and the show-jumpers I dreamed of one day meeting on the other three walls!!!

Making dreams coming true takes long hours and dedication…commitment. We didn’t have fancy equipment and I had to train my horses in the field we rented but I was willing to put the work in!

Molly jumping

I might not have become the show-jumper to the level in my dreams but I was a show-jumper none the less! With bold confidence, I sent a letter to John Whitaker, 5 time Olympian for Great Britain, asking for a job. I wanted to work with horses and if I was going to work for a show-jumper – I was going to work for the best! I wanted the greatest name at that time on my resume! I visited for a week and was soon making the move to England.

John Whitaker (JW) had once appeared on posters in that little dreamer’s bedroom and now she was going to work for him and ride his horses daily! A dream come true!

Holding Murphy

This particular day stands out in my memory. I remember feeling like I was in a dream! I was walking from the horse-box to the arena with Hunters Level “Murphy”. As I was leading mim I began to hear whispers from onlookers: “That’s one of John Whitaker’s horses…John Whitaker…Hunters Level…” My steps became more confident and prideful as I knew that everyday I rode this horse, I cared for this horse. I was the little dreamer girl that had once been that onlooker whispering.

I left that job and went back to college soon after that day – you see my dreams had come true but I knew that was as far as I would travel on my show-jumper dream road. That was as close as I would ever become to being “John Whitaker”.

BUT!

Looking back on this dream has given me HOPE!

I achieved that job because I was bold enough to approach JW and ask!

There is another whom I can boldly approach and ask for the things in my dreams ~ His name is JESUS!

  • “Therefore let us approach the throne of grace with boldness, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us at the proper time.” Hebrews 4:16 HCSB

JW was not able to take my dreams any further BUT Scripture says that if I:

  • “Take delight in the LORD, and He will give you your heart’s desires.” Psalm 37:4 HCSB

There is nothing wrong with taking pride in your job: but I became prideful to the extend that I boasted in the name of JW! I proudly paraded it and rejoiced when people recognized that I worked for JW!

There’s another name that I boast in now! I love the New Living Translation of 2 Corinthians 10:17

  • “As the Scriptures say, ‘If you want to boast, boast only about the LORD.'”

I want to rejoice when people recognize that I work for The LORD! I have THE GREATEST NAME on my resume! It is my heart’s desire for people to see Christ in me as I walk from place to place parading His Name!

  • “For we are His creation, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared ahead of time so that we should walk in them.” Ephesians 2:10 HCSB

I would never have become anything like JW and that wasn’t his desire for me. However, I can become more and more like Christ Jesus every day and that is His desire for me!

  • “put on the new self. You are being renewed in knowledge according to the image of your Creator.” Colossians 3:10 HCSB

I am thankful for dreams come true but I am more thankful that every day I get to dream and dream bigger as I continually renew my mind to dream God’s dreams!

“Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think (and dream!). Then you will learn to know God’s will (and dreams) for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect.” Romans 12:2 NLT (emphasis mine)
 

Psalm 20v7

 

Disclaimer:
Welcome to my “31 Days to Dream” and thank you for joining me on this journey. I don’t hold the road map for October–God does! He is starting the journey by taking me down a path of memories, some of which I had long forgotten. He is showing me how He has made my childhood dreams come true in ways that I could never have imagined. He is giving me FAITH and HOPE for the road ahead. 
 
I am excited to see where He leads my dreaming over this month of #Write31Days 🙂 You can find my other 31 Days to Dream posts here!
