Tags

, , , , ,

Day 3
 
“Ladies and gentlemen, welcome to ??? Airport. Local time is ??? and the temperature is ???.
For your safety and comfort, please remain seated with your seat belt fastened until the Captain turns off the Fasten Seat Belt sign. This will indicate that we have parked at the gate and that it is safe for you to move about.”
 

I was blessed as a child growing up in Scotland that we took many family vacations to various destinations in Europe and beyond. I.LOVE.FLYING!!! Every time I heard the Flight Attendant say these words, or similar, I would be buzzing with anticipation of what wonders lay beyond the doors of the plane that I would get to explore. 

The logical dream that was birthed at some point during my Elementary School years – I will become a Flight Attendant and get paid to travel and see the whole world!!! I had such passion to travel and go to far-reaching destinations. Airports excited me and made me feel like I was at home getting ready to leave for an adventure. I would watch people and wonder where they were going. I would imagine the adventures they had experienced as they disembarked their flights and arrived home again. It was always a puzzle to me to see people worry or anxious.

Did I become a Flight Attendant – No!

BUT!

God gifted me with a passion to travel and grants me peace whenever I do. I am one of those crazy people who can go to an airport on my own and be at complete peace traveling alone on a 12 hour flight. Don’t laugh at me BUT I am even OK with flights being delayed! I now recognize this as a gift and a way that God has equipped me for His purpose.

  • “Now may the God of peace…equip you with all that is good to do His will, working in us what is pleasing in His sight, through Jesus Christ. Glory belongs to Him forever and ever. Amen.” Hebrews 13:20-21 HCSB

I have been fortunate to travel from Scotland to France, Mexico, South Africa, and the U.S. on missions trips. The last of which resulted in God showing me the one my heart loves and in turn me immigrating to the U.S.!

  • “Go, therefore, and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe everything I have commanded you. And remember, I am with you always, to the end of the age.” Matthew 28:19-20

God puts different dreams in each of our hearts for what His Great Commission looks like. For some, it is going to the neighbor across the street, or to the person in the next cubicle at work. He might place a neighboring town or State in your heart.

My heart goes to those far-reaching places that as a young girl I dreamt about flying to. While I don’t know if I will ever get on a plane again (please, Lord!) ~ I do know that I travel to, and serve those people in my heart. I write to them and “I always thank my God when I mention you [them] in my prayers” Philemon 1:4

My dream was to become a Flight Attendant so that I could travel but God’s interpretation of that dream was FAR greater! His version had me traveling and staying in those destinations to serve, rather than serving on the plane and only remaining at the destination for a day!

Now I have dreams and ask God to make them BIGGER because I know He can.

Wherever God takes you on your adventure ~ fasten your seatbelt because it’s going to be an INCREDIBLE journey!

This post is part of my #Write31Days journey ~ you can find my other 31 Days to Dream posts here!

