Tags

, , ,

Have you ever felt like you are just going through life ~ not really living it? Stuck in the moment. Caught in the cycle of the mundane. Lysa TerKeurst says in her book The Best Yes: Making Wise Decisions in the Midst of Endless Demands:

TBY_Social_mundane

Does the mundane sometimes feel like it’s never going to end? Do you feel like there is more? Does it feel like the mundane is becoming the miserable? In Exodus chapter 3 God appeared to Moses in a burning bush. (Sometimes I wish He would appear in as obvious and heart stopping a way to me!!) I just have to look deeper though and see that He DOES appear to me. The Israelites were going through some seriously hard times – they were overworked and underpaid (Exodus 1:8-14) – anyone relate?! Pharaoh had decreed to have any newborn male killed immediately, and when God worked in that situation by causing the midwives to preserve them, Pharaoh just purposed to wipe them out by ordering his people to cast all sons of Hebrews into the Nile! Ok…my life isn’t THAT bad!

In Exodus 3:7-9 we read these comforting statements from God:

“I have observed the misery of My people…”

“I know about their sufferings…”

“The Israelites’ cry for help has come to Me…”

“I have also seen …”

Take a glance back to Exodus 2:24 and we can see the same language used as was used in Genesis 40:23 when the cupbearer did NOT remember Joseph and also in Genesis 21:17 when Hagar and Ishmael were in the wilderness and God HEARD the cries of the boy. God REMEMBERS.

“So God heard their groaning, and He remembered His covenant with Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob.” Exodus 2:24 HCSB

Look deeper than the present circumstances of your life but also look at the present circumstances of your life in a new light! Bob Goff says in his book Love Does: Discover a Secretly Incredible Life in an Ordinary World:

“I think about my day job as a great way to fund the things we’re doing…we call it “fund-raising.” It still makes me grin every time to say it this way.” (p204)

Lysa TerKeurst says in one of the DVD sessions that accompany The Best Yes that “God develops our CHARACTER to match our CALLING”. Allow Him to shape your character through your circumstances and be thankful for the calling that He is shaping you for!

So my question to myself is this…if God sees everything and He hears my cries ~ Why do I not call out to Him more? I sat and pondered this and concluded that no answer that I can come up with will suffice! There is no acceptable answer! I never thought I’d say this but I need to talk more!!

Talk more to God!

Talk More

 

“Be cheerful no matter what; pray all the time; thank God no matter what happens. This is the way God wants you who belong to Christ Jesus to live.” 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 The Message

