Tags

, , , , , , ,

Fearless Friday ~ Gaining Strength from Scripture in the Midst of Fear

Genesis 26:7

Genesis 26v7Have you ever heard the expression “Like father, like son”, or “Like mother, like daughter”?

I read this and just want to scream “Nooooo, Isaac don’t do it!”

I ponder ~ did Abraham tell him the mistakes of his past? Did he know that his father did this very thing…twice! I have already talked about the fear that Abraham might have felt when I shared my thoughts on Genesis 20:11.

“Take courage also that even when we doubt and feel afraid; even when we lack the faith to be bold ~ we serve a God who is faithful to the end…He can move in the hearts of those He wills in order to be faithful to His promises. The INCREDIBLE truth is that: “if we are faithless, He remains faithful, for He cannot deny Himself.” 2 Timothy 2:13 HCSB.”

What resonated with me when I read about Isaac was the idea of breaking free.

Breaking Free from the chains that bind us to our past.
Breaking Free from the patterns in our lives that we fall into.
Breaking Free from the excuses that we use to limit our DREAMS!

What is it you are holding onto from the past? Have you ever found yourself saying–“This is how I’ve always done it” or “I take after my mom”. Perhaps you have let your mind conform to a repeated message of “You’re just like…”. Maybe you’re even like me and you’ve found yourself using it as an excuse. I have justified my behavior. I have said the words “I can’t help it…it’s just me.” too many times.

Sweet friends we don’t have to be slaves to the patterns of the past, or of this world.

“Do not be conformed to this age, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may discern what is the good, pleasing, and perfect will of God.” Romans 12:2 HCSB

“But thank God that, although you used to be slaves of sin, you obeyed from the heart that pattern of teaching you were transferred to” Romans 6:17 HCSB

I am reading Lysa TerKeurst’s new book The Best Yes: Making Wise Decisions in the Midst of Endless Demands and she says in Chapter 3:

"The same patterns will produce the same habits. The same habits 
will lead to the same decisions. The same decisions will keep me 
stuck. And I don't want to be stuck."

Whether it is a pattern that you have inherited, or one you have formed by yourself ~ let’s break free from it today! Be bold and do something different! God gives us the strength and courage that we need ~ embrace that provision today.

Col. 1v11-13

Break Free from the Chains of Pattern

and have a Fearless Friday!

Proverbs 31 Ministries Online Bible Studies have just started a study of The Best Yes by Lysa TerKeurst and I invite you to join us! It’s not to late to sign up ~ just click HERE!  

If you were encouraged by this ~ share it with a friend!

