Tags

, , , , , ,

Matthew 10 22

This verse came to mind this morning as I was reading Genesis 40. After interpreting the dreams of Pharaoh’s chief cupbearer, Joseph says to him: “But when all goes well for you, remember that I was with you. Please show kindness to me by mentioning me to Pharaoh, and get me out of this prison.” Genesis 40:14 HCSB.

“Yet the chief cupbearer DID NOT REMEMBER Joseph; he FORGOT him.”
Genesis 40:23 HCSB (emphasis mine)

I have been disappointed in the past when people don’t remember me. I place an expectation on them to call, text, tell that person about me, or acknowledge that I did something for them. However: as Joseph discovered, we cannot always rely on people. I have also been the cupbearer. I have disappointed others and failed to remember them. I have told a friend that I will call and forgotten. I have told my mother that I will email her later and forgotten (yes that just happened this week AND it’s her birthday). I have told that work colleague that I will loan her a book I am reading and forgotten (I still need to do that). I have promised my husband that I will do the dishes, go to the store, be sweeter, be more confident, be more mindful of his needs…the list goes on but I somehow forget…or fail to remember. I let LIFE get in the way.

I believe this is what happened with the cupbearer – he let life get in the way. He was no doubt excited and relieved to be released from prison and was so caught up in his own life that he failed to remember that man who listened to his dream and gave him hope while in that prison. Again I am sometimes that cupbearer. I forget to remember who listened to me and gave me hope while I was in the prison of my sinful life. GOD, please forgive me.

I get so caught up in the busy of life that I forget to remember the God who is sovereign over my life and who gives me every breath that I take (Isaiah 42:5). I forget to remember that Jesus died on the cross to take the punishment for all my sins (Romans 5:8) ~ even the ones that I am committing while I am forgetting. I forget to remember the way that God wants me to live and the plans He has for me (Jeremiah 29:11). I forget to remember that GOD knows what is best for my life and I try to make my own plans and rule my own life. I forget to remember that GOD is Sovereign King over my life (1 Timothy 6:15) ~ I am not Sovereign Queen! (I took the Sovereign Queen idea from the guest lecturer of a class I am taking at Southeastern Theological Seminary Women’s Biblical Institute, Mindy Williams).

The truth is that we cannot rely on the promises of man.

However, we can rely on the promises of God for He cannot lie! Trust…

“in the hope of eternal life that God, who cannot lie, promised before time began.” Titus 1:2 HCSB

We can rely on a God who never forgets!

“…Even if these forget, yet I will not forget you.” Isaiah 49:15 HCSB

We can rely on Jesus who says:

“Therefore, everyone who will acknowledge Me before men, I will also acknowledge him before My Father in heaven.” Matthew 10:32 HCSB

How INCREDIBLE that Jesus, the Savior of the World, the Son of God, the Sacrificial Lamb, the Perfect Man, God in the flesh promises that if I acknowledge Him before men ~ He will acknowledge me before His Father God in Heaven. JESUS!!! Jesus is saying MY name to God. Jesus is remembering ME!!! He will NOT forget!!!

So What Now?

The awesome thing about this account between Joseph and the cupbearer is that God kept that memory safe in the cupbearer’s mind and brought it to the forefront at the perfect time. When Pharaoh had a crazy dream TWO YEARS later, the cupbearer remembered. God’s timing is perfect and sometimes that will happen in our lives also. We will remember that promise at God’s appointed time. When you do remember ~ act on it! It’s never too late to remember someone! Think about how much it would mean to you to get that text or call even if you were expecting it yesterday, last week, last year. Also remember grace when someone remembers you!

It’s also never too late to remember Jesus! Reach out to the never forgetful, always remembering, Faithful One today ~ He’s waiting patiently for you 🙂 If you are reading this and need to think about what Jesus did for you for the first time, I encourage you to go to this link that talks you through the Romans Road to Salvation and I pray that The Lord would speak into your heart. Feel free to contact me if you have any more questions 🙂

Reach out

