Tags

Feet to prayer

“Putting feet to your prayer” is a phrase my husband Jason heard from our Pastor Mark Hammond. I recently shared this phrase with a friend, and she asked what it meant…for me it is having a attitude of taking action:

“and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace.” Ephesians. 6:15

If there is something you are praying about, that you feel God is leading you to ~ then He calls you to act on it.

“So whoever knows the right thing to do and fails to do it, for him it is sin.” James 4:17

While we were praying for job for myself during our time living in Washington D.C., we were at a church meeting, and Jason felt prompted, during the breakout group session, to share our prayer request. He had been prompted the previous week, and felt convicted having not said anything. He actually wrestled with God about it, not seeing the point. However, he shared. Immediately after the “Amen”, a man in the group came up and spoke to Jason…it led to me having a job! We had been praying, and we put “feet to our prayer” by sharing our needs with that group.

We are currently praying about our future plans. We believe God has spoken to us about where He wants us to go ~ now we have put “feet to that prayer” by sending an application. 

Putting “feet to your prayer” is also having a “make it happen” attitude! It is creating new avenues through which God can work. For example, I had plans to attend a Christian event with a friend, who had to cancel due to sickness. I was left with a choice of attending alone, or staying home. It was a 4 hour drive, and I was very nervous about attending alone as my friend was the one who had made arrangements for us; but I also really wanted to be there! I felt God whisper in my ear: “What is your purpose for going ~ to hang out with your friend, or to worship me?” I went! This led to me meeting some of the most incredible women, and developing friendships that God has worked in and through.

“…Those who honor me I will honor…” 1 Samuel 2:30

God can open doors, but we have to take action to walk through those doors to discover what He has for us beyond that door, and beyond our imagination! Sometimes the door will be closed, but God might have unlocked it ready for us to get up and take hold of the handle!

Is there something that you want to do? Do you feel the Holy Spirit prompting you to pray for something, or take action? Are you trying the handle on any doors that lie before you? I encourage you to step out in faith, and put “feet to your prayers” today.

