Tags

, , ,

Has this ever happened to you…you wonder what the time is so you look at your watch, only to be asked by someone who observed you doing just that ~ “What’s the time?”…BLANK!!! You can’t even tell them even though you JUST looked at your watch for that very reason!!! One of the verses Wendy Blight directed us to in the introduction of Chapter Two of ‘Living So That’ was James 1:22. This common watch scenario is what I thought of that when I read verses 22-24 in the Message Bible:

“Don’t fool yourself into thinking that you are a listener when 
you are anything but, letting the Word go in one ear and out the 
other. ACT on what you hear! Those who hear and don’t act are like 
those who glance in the mirror, walk away, and two minutes later 
have no idea who they are, what they look like.” 
(James 1:22-24 The Message)

I hate to admit that too often I am like this with God’s Word. I can spend time studying Scripture, then an hour later if someone asks me what I read that morning, I can’t actually tell them. I have become to consumed with all that is going on around me, and caught up in the busy of the day, that God’s Words have become a distant memory. I might remember the chapter and verse that I read…but I can’t actually detail anything about it. I can’t remember what God taught me in those quiet moments alone with Him. It feel so disappointed and upset when that happens ~ I WANT to be able to remember! Truth is ~ it shouldn’t be like that, I shouldn’t let life over-ride the memories of my quiet time.

The memory verse for Week Two of the Proverbs 31 Ministries Online Bible Study of ‘Living So That’, is:

Week 2

God’s Word is meant to train, rebuke, correct, and teach me ~ how can it if I can’t recall what it says!

Wendy tells a story about Dr. David Livingstone in Chapter Two, Part One of Living So That. While traveling through the African jungle, he and his missions team needed to lighten their load of 73 books. Book by book was dropped, but the Bible remained. I want to be like Dr. David Livingstone, and treasure Scripture above all else. It is ESSENTIAL and where I should turn in my heart and mind.

Do you remember a few years ago it seemed like everyone was wearing those bracelets W.W.J.D. ~ What Would Jesus Do?! They were to serve as a visual reminder in all situations to think about how Jesus would respond, how Jesus would act, what Jesus would say…and to be like Him in our thoughts and actions. The thing is…we can only follow through on it if we KNOW what Jesus would do…and we will only find that out by reading and memorizing Scripture.

Last week we learned that one of the reasons Jesus Came ~ was to leave a testimony and example of how we are to live ~ how to become more Christ-like in our own lives. God Spoke, and inspired man to write His Words SO THAT we could read all about Christ’s testimony 1000s of years later.

Go ahead…share ~ what did you read in your quiet time today, and what did God speak to you to let you know…What Would Jesus Do?

When you’ve done that why not head over to the Proverbs 31 Ministries website and sign up to join in a study of Living So That, by Wendy Blight! It’s running right now! Just click here to head over to the sign up page

