Tags

, , , ,

1 Cor. 10

  • “I don’t WANT to”
  • “It’s NOT FAIR”
  • “WHYYYYYYY???”
  • “Why is it so difficult?”

We have probably ALL asked these questions at some point in our lives! Certainly if you have been plagued with injury and found yourself way too many pounds overweight ~ you have asked these questions. I know I have. 

#BENEFICIAL WEIGHT

  • “If you could just lose some weight, it would help your knee” ~ the surgeon had to tell me this TOO many times

For every 1lb extra weight you carry ~ your knee bears the burden of the effects of an extra 5lbs of weight! I am happy to say that my knee now feels 300lbs lighter!!! WOW ~ said like that makes it sound VERY #beneficial. I began to see my weight, not just as a number I didn’t like ~ but as a restricting burden on my life, holding me back from being all that I could be, and doing all that God made me for.

photo (3)photo (1)

I did two experiments recently ~ I went for a walk carrying my 9 month old nephew, and also planked with my 6 year old nephew on my back. Needless to say ~ both felt more physically challenging than the same exercises without them. In both ~ the total combined weight was less than what my body used to bear the burden of ~ #beneficial freedom from chains that bound me. My weight became more than just a number on a scale.

I can’t run five paces without knee pain ~ this led me to feeling resigned to a sedentary life. Then I remembered how much I love swimming! I found the exercise that is #beneficial for my body, that will bring it good, not bad all the days of my life. I am now in better shape than I ever achieved in my various failed attempts over the years to become a runner! My goal used to be to participate in a 5km run. On March 22nd I will use this gift of swimming to raise money in a 5km sponsored swim and help God’s children around the world. I will achieve my 5km ~ just not in the way I first imagined, and in a way more #beneficial to my body!

#BENEFICIAL FOOD

  • “I love gluten, gluten is my friend!”

When you feel like certain food is causing you problems, and don’t want to stop eating it ~ it’s liberating to be told by several health experts that you are not allergic ~ “YES, I can still eat it!!!” However…! Sometimes, those medical professionals can’t put a label on how you feel. God designed my body and sometimes, things are just a mystery and I will not find an answer from the world!

This was a tough lesson to learn. I was so reluctant to give up foods I loved, that I would eat them and feel awful but convince myself that it must be ok because I’m not “allergic”! #Beneficial for me ~ being 99% gluten free. I’m not going to sit here and deny the fact that I have the occasional cookie! Sometimes, we have to listen to our bodies and what God is trying to tell us, which might be different to what doctors say!

#BENEFICIAL WORDS

What I infiltrate my heart and mind with, penetrates my soul and subconscious ~ it is the breath of me, and from where my life springs forth (Prov. 4:23). It is where I draw my strength from.

Last week while swimming, I had a goal in mind. I felt strong until around 80% complete and then my body began to cry out! As I swam, I felt The Lord speak to me: “My flesh and heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.” Ps. 73:26

Ps. 73v23-26

#Beneficial ~ Allowing God to pour His word into my heart and mind and soul and giving me strength. I long to have His #beneficial Word stored up in my heart (Ps. 119:11).

“I am the LORD your GOD, who brought you up out of the land of Egypt. Open your mouth wide, and I will fill it.” Ps. 81:10

When I look back over my life, I can see the various circumstances and situations that have been my ‘Egypt’. I can see where I have been in captivity ~ a slave to the world around me in various ways. God has redeemed me from the Egypt of my life. He has set me free from the chains that bind me ~ some, I still have to walk away from completely.

When I read this verse, I picture a mother bird feeding her babies ~ they sit in the nest, mouths wide open as she pours out from within her, all that they need and long for. I long for God to pour what is #beneficial into me ~ His WORD.

“For the LORD gives wisdom; from His mouth comes knowledge and understanding.” Prov. 2:6

“for wisdom will come into your heart, and knowledge will be pleasant to your soul.” Prov. 2:10

God’s wisdom and knowledge poured into my heart and soul is the most #beneficial gift I could ever ask for, or imagine. I have been in the place where I hated disciple and reproof (Prov. 5:12) and it brought be to the “brink of utter ruin” (Prov. 5:14). I have NO desire to return to that place. Instead I will strive to listen to the #beneficial Word of the Lord and allow Him to direct me in the way everlasting (Ps. 139:24).

Prov. 3-6

