Tags

, , , , , ,

I mean TALK ABOUT a verse completely PACKED with meaning…!!!

Wk2 1 Peter 5-7-8a

1 Peter 5:7-8a is the Verse of the Week (2) for the Made to Crave, by Lysa TerKeurst study with Proverbs 31 Ministries Online Bible Study and WOW – you could seriously spend an entire week studying this verse night and day.

1 Pet. 57-8a

I will do my best to narrow my thoughts down to just a few moments worth of reading!!!

“casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you. Be sober-minded; be watchful.” 1 Pet. 5:7-8a (ESV)

“CAST”

When you cast your nets into the sea it requires EFFORT!!! It’s an ACTION. It’s a VERB. You have to DO IT!!! This is the first thing that struck me. I can’t just think about it, I have to actually do it…be purposeful about it. Take action. The International Standard Version uses the word “throw” – I imagine throwing a ball as far as possible. It TAKES effort and the MORE effort I put in – the farther I will be able to throw the ball.

This is the image I want to keep in mind – I want to cast/throw my anxieties as far as possible. Then I want to remember the New Living Translation which uses the word “give”, and remember that, generally when you give something away – you don’t ask for, or take it, back! I want to cast/throw/give my anxieties so far away that I can’t see them, and I never want them back!!! And not just some of them either…“all” means EACH. ANY. INDIVIDUAL. THE WHOLE. EVERY. SINGLE. ONE!!!!!

“ANXIETY”

“cares” (KJV) “worries” (NLT)

“Anxiety in a man’s heart weighs him down” Prov. 12:25 (ESV)

“Remove vexation from your heart” Ecc. 11:10 (ESV)

My anxiety will EAT ME UP. The anguish that my anxiety brings upon me will CONSUME me (Psalm 31:9-11). I have to question – do I want consuming anxiety in my life, or do I want cheerful JOY (Psalm 94:19; Proverbs 12:25). Quite simply, anxiety is meaningless! (Ecclesiastes 11:10).

Paul wanted to send Timothy to the church in Philippi, meanwhile he sends Epaphroditus, whom the Philippians have been concerned about. This action not only meets Paul’s need to communicate with the church in Philippi, but will also still the hearts of the church, who are anxious about Epaphroditus (Philippians. 2:19-28). They are anxious so they take action. If I sit and wallow in my anxiety, it will choke me (Luke 8:14), consume me, and weigh me down (Luke 21:34). No thanks!

“CARES”

The INCREDIBLE TRUTH is that God WANTS me, COMMANDS me to cast/throw/give my anxieties/cares/worries to HIM, because He cares about ME. When talking about the Promised Lands in Deuteronomy 11, it is stated that this is a land that The LORD cares for – and what He cares for, His eyes are continually watching (Deut. 11:12). WOW! The LORD cares for ME, which means His eyes are continually on me, watching over me. I need to rest in that truth! If I trust in Him, He will sustain me, and never let me be shaken (Nahum 1:7; Psalm 55:22).

“SELF-CONTROLLED/SOBER”

Clear-Headed. Serious. Temperate. Calm. Collected.

“Better a patient person than a warrior, one with self-control than one who takes a city.” Prov. 16:32 (NIV)

The battle belongs to The LORD – I need to give/cast/throw my battles at His feet.

A person without self-control is like a city with broken-down walls. Prov. 25:28 (NLT)

This made me think of Jericho, and how the Israelites circled the walls for days. Ok, I know there was nothing the inhabitants could do, as The LORD was in control of the battle and gave the city into the hands of the Israelites…but…I have to wonder if were they aware of the approaching battle, where they clear-headed and sober, or drunk in their thoughts? The fact is, even if they were, they had no control over the outcome…do I want to be like Jericho, out of control? If I don’t have self-control and keep a sober/clear/calm/temperate/collected mind, then I am asking to become like Jericho – overcome and broken down…OUCH!

“ALERT”

I need to be awake and on guard (Mark 13:33). I need to PRAY (Eph. 6:18; 1 Pet. 4:7). Again, it’s taking action. It’s not sitting still and wallowing in my worries and anxieties. It’s being awake and being watchful (ESV), vigilant (KJV)…praying, PRAYING, PRAYING!!!

This verse has been a HUGE conviction to me, and something I need to work on a LOT! I am a self-confessed worrier…

I need to, with #determination:

CONTINUALLY PRAY

CONTINUALLY GIVE TO GOD

CONTINUALLY TRUST IN GOD

CONTINUALLY THINK ABOUT GOD

CONTINUALLY #CRAVEGOD

CONTINUALLY WAKE UP!!!

MTC wk2

