Tags

, , , ,

Joshua 19

Anytime I am asked to “Share my favorite scripture” I have an initial…WHAT…? As in SINGULAR…ONE?!! But there are so many to choose from! I honestly don’t have a ‘Favorite Scripture’ and if I did…it would probably vary from day-to-day!!! That being said…I do have a Life-Verse and maybe that’s the same thing.

So when one of the suggested blogs for Proverbs 31 Ministries Online Bible Studies, for the study of Made to Crave, by Lysa TerKeurst, asked about a favorite scripture…this is what immediately came to mind

“Have I not commanded you? Be STRONG and COURAGEOUS. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the LORD your GOD is WITH YOU wherever you go.” Joshua 1:9 ESV

Joshua 1:9 has meant a great deal to me over the years. The Lord first used it to speak to me in 2008 as I was preparing to go on my first short-term missions trip to Mexico with WEC International. I was nervous about stepping out in faith, beyond anything I had experienced before. I was going on a team of 10 people, none of whom I had previously met. I was going to a country where I did not speak the language. I was going to do work unlike anything I’d ever done.

BUT…I knew I could have confidence! In quiet times, sermons, conversations…the same verse – Joshua 1:9 – was repeated to me over and over, and over! THE Lord…MY God was going to be with me WHEREVER I went…including Mexico. Just as the Lord repeated the words “BE STRONG AND COURAGEOUS” to Joshua 3 times (1:6, 7, and 9) when He was instructing him in what to do, He was repeating them to me. I could see Him active in Joshua’s life, and could see the reflection of that in my own life. It was a blessing and encouragement that I needed to help me step out in faith.

I have been amazed to see how this verse has continued to speak to me over the years. When preparing to go to South Africa, again with WEC Int.; in preparing to go to the U.S.A. to serve; in preparing to immigrate; and most recently in preparing to enter a time of sabbatical with my husband. It seems that every time God is preparing me for something, I see this verse in daily readings, sermon notes, conversations; and it helps me to be confident and sure that HE IS WITH ME.

The Lord speaks these words to Joshua in the midst of instructing him to cross the River Jordan and enter the Promised Land…to venture out into new and unknown territory. When I hear Him speak these words to me, it also gives me the confidence and faith to believe that I am following His instructions. It gives me the courage to continue.

Joshua 1-9

