Tags

, , , , ,

Ps. 139-1

Psalm 139 is one of my all-time favorite Psalms! As I turned to the Proverbs 31 Ministries online bible study verse of the week, for A Confident Heart, by Renee Swope, I noticed the many previous notes in my bible.

I noted where a pastor in 2010 had prayed v9-11 over me; and later in 2011, a close friend prayed the same verses for my life. I started to sing in my head a song I know, that a friend of mine wrote for his band…the lyrics being solely words from this Psalm. My God has used this Psalm time, and time again, to speak into my life.

The ESV study bible notes that the key word of the entire Psalm is KNOW, and that the theme of the Psalm is “God’s INTIMATE KNOWLEDGE of His people”. Verse 7 tells us that there is NO ESCAPE from the presence of The Lord…He will lead and hold us wherever we are. Whatever our circumstances. He is with us in all that we do, when we are close to Him, and when we stray. How does He know me so well?…because He “knitted me together in my mother’s womb” (v13)before I was even born He had written every one of my days in His book (v16).

“O LORD”

One True God, Living One, Jehovah, Existent One…

“YOU HAVE SEARCHED ME”

Thoroughly examined, searched, explored, investigated…even as He created me He was doing this.

“AND KNOWN ME”

My husband makes me laugh at times…well a lot actually! He always jokes when people use the word “KNOW” when referring to someone they have met once. He says…“They think they KNOW someone!!!”. It really is a misused word when you look at its definition through the eyes of Scripture…

Know. Perceive. Know by experience. Be acquainted with. Find out about. Discern. Recognize. Admit. Acknowledge. Confess. If you know about something, you have been instructed about it, and are ‘skillful’ concerning it…this makes me think that you would be able to pass a test on someone you know! If we have become known, we have revealed ourselves, we have declared who we are. To know is to understand. 

When I predict, or anticipate something my husband does, he’ll say with a goofy smile, “You think you KNOW me!!!”. That’s just it though…I DO know him!!! Not as well as The Lord does, but as well as I know anyone. That makes sense…the people who we truly know in our lives, by this definition, are the ones with whom we spend the most time. The ones whose lives we search into. They are the ones that we place most value in…that we devote our time to.

WOW! That means that My God, My Lord…The Creator GOD…has chosen to spend time with ME. To know me, He needs to spend time with me. To reveal myself to Him, I need to declare who I am in Him…I need to confess and acknowledge all to Him…He already knows because He is in me, but He wants me to also declare myself to Him.

Realize this though…to truly know The LORD, we need to spend time with Him…we need to search Him…we need to become acquainted with Him, discern His will, acknowledge Him in our lives. How do we do this…? He has revealed Himself to us, and declared who He is through His living and active Word (Heb. 4:12) and we need to devote time to searching Scripture. Through this, God will not only revealed Himself to us, He will also speak into our hearts and help us discover who we are in Him. When we search and know The Lord, He turns out heart and mind more and more toward Himself, and we will confess Him in our lives, “for out of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaks” (Luke 6:45).

I love how the Matthew Henry Commentary explains;

“That the God with whom we have to do has a perfect knowledge of us, and that all the motions and actions both of our inward and of our outward man are naked and open before him.”

This God who KNOWS me so well has sent His Holy Spirit to live inside me…and because the Spirit has the mind of The Lord, He intercedes for me with thoughts and groanings, when I have no words of my own (Rom. 8:26-27). Even when I have nothing, God is still working in me, and listening to my heart…because part of Him dwells there.

I pray that The Lord would continue to search us and know us, and lead us in His everlasting way (Ps. 139:23-24).

wk6

(All definitions were taken from the Hebrew Lexicon found at http://www.blueletterbible.org)

