Tags

Image

“Then you will know that I am the LORD. Those who hope in me will not be disappointed.” Isaiah 49:23b

This is our focus verse for week one of the Proverbs 31 online bible study of A Confident Heart, by Renee Swope.

Just reading this verse makes me smile…then I began to look into it and I began to cry…then smile some more…then thank the Lord…then praise and worship…then sit shaking and nodding my head all at the same time…you know the drill!!!

“KNOW” – the Hebrew word ‘yada`’ is found in the OT (KJV) 947 times and transliterated as ‘know’ 645 times. To truly know God is Lord is to perceive, to see, to distinguish, to know by experience, to recognize, admit, acknowledge and confess. Renee Swope describes it as “a bonding between two people when one truly feels the emotions of the other.” (A Confident Heart, 41). She points out that “Jesus knows your pain, fears, doubts, and disappointments. He understands your dreams and desires.” WOW! 

When I think about this, I have to laugh as I picture my husband…he regularly comments that people THINK they know someone, but they don’t KNOW them. When he does or says something and I finish his sentence or predict something that he is about to do, he laughs and says with a goofy smile…”You think you KNOW me…”. It is because of the bond between us and our ability to recognize and feel each others emotions and behavior, that we can laugh and joke about it. How much MORE then does the Lord know and feel our actions, thoughts and feelings…? In this verse He is inviting me, inviting all of us, to KNOW Him at this intimate level. So much so, that we will be able to recognize and distinguish between His works and those of the world around us. We will be able to feel His compassion for others and understand that He feels our emotions also. He knows, He cares, He feels.

It struck me that this first sentence really concludes with two names for God: “I AM”, and “LORD”. Such a great reminder of who it is that we can KNOW and trust in. John Piper summarized the name “I AM” in just a few points that I just spent a moment meditating over while looking at this verse…THIS is the LORD who we are invited to KNOW!!!

“In Jesus Christ we who are born of God have the unspeakable privilege of knowing Yahweh as our Father—I AM WHO I AM—the God

    • who exists
    • whose personality and power is owing solely to himself
    • who never changes
    • from whom all power and energy in the universe flows
    • and to whom all creation should conform its life.

This is the name of God: I AM WHO I AM! And may those who know the name of God put their trust in him.”

“Those who hope in me will not be disappointed.”

“HOPE”  – blueletterbible.org indicates that the root word here is ‘qavah’, which can mean: to wait, look for, hope, expect; to wait or look eagerly for, to lie in wait for. Melissa Taylor, in her prayer call on 10/15 drove this one home for me. She said that HOPE is a “feeling of expectation” and it gives us “grounds for believing something good will happen”.

When I thought about this and also reflected on A Confident Heart ch.1 questions, I was overwhelmed with the realization and truth of Romans 8:28 – “And we KNOW that in all things God works for the GOOD of those who love him, who have been called according to HIS purpose.” (emphasis mine), and also Jeremiah 17:7 – “But blessed is the one who trusts in the Lord, whose confidence is in him.” When I am seeking the LORD and desiring to KNOW Him and distinguish His will for my life and the truth that He KNOWS and loves me perfectly, then I can build #AConfidentHeart.

My life has changed a lot in the past year and is changing direction again as I write…unpacking this verse and the first two chapters of A Confident Heart has helped me to understand that I can trust God and believe in the fact that He is leading me where He is taking me for HIS purpose and I have grounds to believe that something good will happen….and I will NOT be disappointed!

I hope you have found this as much of an encouragement and blessing to read as I did in writing it. I’d love to hear from you!

Thank you!

